Société Honoraire de Français Home » Promote french » Société Honoraire de Français

Société Honoraire de Français

The establishment of a chapter of the Société Honoraire de Français offers several benefits to a secondary French program.   It provides an opportunity to recognize outstanding scholarship in the study of French, to place a special seal on the graduate’s diploma, to wear a tri-colored cord or a stole at graduation, and to wear the honor society’s official regalia.

Motto of the SHF: «Avoir une autre langue, c’est posséder une deuxième âme»

The local high school chapter provides a vehicle to focus activities around French language and Francophone literatures and cultures and to encourage participation in the annual writing contest and travel grant competition.  In addition, students can acquire leadership skills by serving as officers, directing the initiation ceremony, or leading other chapter events.

In 2015, the AATF inaugurated the Jeunes Amis du Français, an honorary society for middle and elementary school students. Click here for more information on JAF.

Please join us on “AATF Société Honoraire de Français” Facebook page! We cannot wait to hear from you and to share your ideas!   The SHF now has a Twitter and Instagram feed at @AATFSHF.  Join us there, too!

Processing Time FOR ALL ORDERS is 5-7 business days from the time the order is received, assuming that the order is correct and that the sponsor’s AATF membership is current.

Please click here to read guidelines and policies for placing orders. Please note that we do not under any circumstances accept individual orders from students.  Changes for 2021 are at the beginning.

SHF Forms

SHF Competitions for 2022-2023 School Year

Important Information for SHF Sponsors

SHF National Council

Contact SHF Secretary with any questions at

Created: December 28, 2015
Last update: January 10, 2023

Officers of the Société Honoraire de Français


  • Gertrude F. Weathers, 1950-1958
  • Helen Bridey, 1958-1959
  • Annie Preston Fearrington, 1959-1964
  • Margaret Brunink, 1964-1967
  • Sr. J. Marita Paul, 1967-1971
  • Sr. Sharon Cook, 1971-1972
  • Charles Avery, 1972-1975
  • Yvonee Harvey, 1975-1980
  • Mireille Scheni, 1980-1984
  • Robert V. Smawley, 1984-1991
  • Pearl Bennett Chiari, 1991-1997
  • Sharon Rapp, 1997-2017
  • Abbe Guillet, 2017-2019
  • Regina Symonds, 2020-2022

National Council Teacher Representatives (created 2016):

  • Henriette Sindjui, 2022-2024
  • Kimberley Harter, 2021-2023
  • Tracy Rucker, 2019-2021
  • Andrea Isabelli, 2018-2020
  • Justin Frieman, 2017-2018
  • Katy Wheelock, 2017


  • Ruth P. Kroeger, 1950-1961
  • Margaret Brunink, 1961-1964
  • Sr. J. Marita Paul, 1964-1967
  • Sr. Helen Anthony, 1968-1971 (East of Mississippi Region)
  • Agnes Hennessey, 1968-1972 (West of Mississippi Region)
  • Sr. M. Clara Keefe, 1972
  • F. W. Nachtmann, 1972 (Acting)
  • Stephen J. Foster, 1972-2000
  • Todd Knox, 2000-2010
  • Amy Hanson, 2010-2011
  • Jessica Nelson, 2011-2014
  • Jayne Abrate, 2014-2016 (Acting)
  • Christy Brown, 2016-2019
  • April Anthony, 2020-2022
  • Gwyn Phillips, 2022-Present



9000 teachers to
grow your passion

Join now