2021 Convention Program Home » 2021 Convention Program 2021 Convention Program 2021 Convention Program - Chevrons

2021 AATF Virtual Convention Program

Join us this summer for an exciting program of professional development, cultural and pedagogical exchanges, and French-themed enrichment.   We will begin with 4 webinars during the month of June, including presentations on podcasts, French for Specific Purposes, French-specific national standards, and Commissions on Advocacy/Teacher Retention & Recruitment (see the program grid below).   In August, the program will continue with 5 more webinars on Diversity and Children’s Literature, Teaching with Diversity, Société Honoraire de Français, and  more.

Click here to register.   There is no charge for any of these activities to current AATF members.   All of the live sessions were recorded and have now been posted.  If you are not currently a member and would like to join, go to https://store.frenchteachers.org.

Pre-convention workshops
Thursday, June 10
[3 PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W121: Step into Podcasting! Activities for the 21st Century
Tuesday, June 15
[3 PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W211: What’s New in French for Specific Purposes?
Tuesday, June 22
[3 PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W311: Learning about the New French Standards
Thursday, June 24
[3 PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W321: Joint Session of the AATF Commission on Advocacy & the AATF Commission on Teacher Recruitment & Retention

 

 

AATF Convention – Week 1
Tuesday morning, June 29 Session A Session B Wednesday morning, June 30 Session A Session B Thursday morning, July 1         Session A Session B
30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S111a: Dictée S111b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S121a: Leçon de cuisine (Poutine) S121b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S131a: Séance de yoga S131b: Causerie
60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S112a: La Louisiane créole S112b: Les Coopérations pédagogiques en ligne avec les établissements français: Bonnes pratiques inspirées de l’expérience du réseau européen eTwinning 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S122a: Interactive Interpretation: Moving from Interpretive to Interpersonal to Presentational S122b: Le Conte dans la classe de français 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S132a: Bring the Francophone World into Your Classroom S132b: Promoting French Through Films: La Famille et la communauté dans les films francophones
60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S113a: Incorporating Louisiana French Language & Culture S113b: French in Early Childhood and Lower School: How to Introduce Language and Culture 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S123a: Célébrons la Semaine du français! S123b: Integrating Language Memoirs into the Classroom 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S133a: Ressusciter les morts: comment motiver les élèves à étudier les personnages historiques S133b: Active Learning: Using Bloom’s Taxonomy and NCSSFL-ACTFL Can-Do Statements to Create an Engaging Student-Centered Learning Environment
30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S114b: Causerie 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S124a: Matching Evolving Gen Z/iGen Students with Updated French Curricula S124b: Causerie 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S134a: Blogging with Molière: 400th Anniversary Learning Activities S134b: Causerie

 

Welcome to the Convention Evening
Tuesday, June 29

[5 pm PST/6 MST/7 CST/8 EST]

Molière than Thou

 

AATF Convention – Week 2
Tuesday morning, July 6 Session A Session B Wednesday, July 7 Session A Session B Thursday, July 8       Session A Session B
30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S211a: Dictée S211b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S221a: Leçon de cuisine (Colombo de poulet) S221b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S231a: Séance de yoga S231b: Causerie
60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S212a: Teaching French in New Orleans in the Eighteenth Century: The Ursuline Method S212b: Renforcer l’utilisation des cinq C pour développer les compétences langagières et les tâches à développer 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S222a: Experiencing Francophone North America Through the Senses S222b: SEL (Social Emotional Learning) in the French Classroom 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S232a: Don’t Just Survive — Thrive! How to Build a Vibrant French Program S232b: TPRS and the Francophone World
60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S213a: Caribbean and Louisiana Culture in French Textbooks: A Critical Perspective S213b: Qu’est-ce que ça veut dire, d’être français aujourd’hui? 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S223a: Teaching Franco-American Heritage via Literature, Song, and Photographs S223b: Teaching Non-Binary and Gender-Inclusive French 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S233a: AWESOME Projects for Intermediate/Advanced French Students S233b: Enseigner (avec) la bande dessinée
30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S214a: From Marketing to Warmongering: Early Maps of Québec and Louisiana S214b: Je la veux…cuite ? Language Ideologies and the Teaching of la cuisson in a Corsican FLE Class 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S224a: The French Advantage S224b: Causerie 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S234a: Encore vous? Étinceler année après année S234b: Causerie

 

Evening Concert
Tuesday, July 6

[5 pm PST/6 MST/7 CST/8 EST]

Vignettes raciniennes

 

AATF Convention – Week 3
Tuesday morning, July 13 Session A Session B Wednesday, July 14 Session A Session B Thursday, July 15       Session A Session B
30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S311a: Dictée S311b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S321a: Leçon de cuisine (Croissants) S321b: Causerie 30 minutes

[7 am PST/8 MST/9 CST/10 EST]

S331a: Séance de yoga S331b: Causerie
60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S312a: Integrating Global Competency in the World Language Classroom S312b: Bleu, blanc et beur: le Maghreb et les défis de l’immigration en France 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S322a: Music in the Saddlebag: The Abbé François Picquet S322b: Talking Movies: Viewing Familiar Culture through a Francophone Lens 60 minutes

[7:30 am PST/8:30 MST/9:30 CST/10:30 EST]

S332a: Alors, on parle français! S332b: Il faut cultiver notre jardin: Creating a Campus Potager
(continuation – 2nd half of session) S312a: La Place de la Francophonie dans un cours de civilisation française
60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S313a: Itinéraires louisianais: la littérature créole louisianaise du 19ème siècle dans sa diversité S313b: Grow French through La Francophonie 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S323a:Anti-Racist Pedagogy in the French Language Classroom S323b: Children Have Rights Too! A Comprehensive Unit for the AP Classroom 60 minutes

[8:30 am PST/9:30 MST/10:30 CST/11:30 EST]

S333a: Zarafa et Jacqueline: a Multi-Cultural, Multi-Era, Multimedia Journey S333b: Comprehensibility in French Questions: Does our Classroom Input Mirror Contemporary French?
30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S314a: Causerie S314b: Creating an After-School French Language and Culture Club for K-12 French Teacher Training 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S324a: Enseigner la culture québécoise à travers les observations d’un Néo-Québécois: Dany Laferrière S324b: Causerie 30 minutes

[9:30 am PST/10:30 MST/11:30 CST/12:30 EST]

S334a: Rusty French: Keeping Up with My Pronunciation S134b: Causerie

 

Soirée Divertissante
Thursday, July 15

[5 pm PST/6 MST/7 CST/8 EST]

AATF Awards Recognition Program
An evening of entertainment with Steven “Etienne” Langlois

 

Post-convention workshops
Tuesday, July 27
[3 pm PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W111: La Diversité et la littérature enfantine
Saturday, July 31 [8 am PST/9 MST/10 CST/11 EST]
AATF Delegate Assembly
Tuesday, August 3
[3 pm PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W211: Jazz-Age Paris and the Other American Colony
Thursday, August 5
[3 pm PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W212: La Bibliothèque des Amériques: un monde de ressources numériques en français à découvrir!
Tuesday, August 10
[3 pm PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W311: L’enseignement de la diversité
Thursday, August 12
[3 pm PST/4 MST/5 CST/6 EST]
W331: Back-to-School Workshop for Sponsors of the Société Honoraire de Français

 

Created: May 21, 2021
Last update: July 27, 2021

9000 teachers to
grow your passion

Join now